Books and brandy snaps

4 05 2011

I had a spectacularly unproductive day yesterday. Today’s been much better. I did a couple of loads of dishes this morning and a few other jobs round the house, then went into town at lunch time. I very rarely go in – I could count the times I’ve been in the last two years on my hands. It was surprisingly nice, though, even though it was lunch time. I went and re-registered with the library and had a good browse. I ended up bringing seven books home with me. My library card will also get me free entry to a couple of the local museums and discounted parking, amongst other things, so I think it’s well worth the £2 that I paid for the ‘special’ card (library-only cards are free). I then went and picked up some knitting supplies and came home.

Since I got in, I’ve been attempting to make brandy snaps. The entire first batch got so stuck to the tray that I ended up immersing the whole lot in boiling water and detergent to get them off. Following this disaster, I only put two in the second batch. With the second and subsequent batches, I found that I can scrape them off the tray if I do it the second they come out of the oven, so they’re just kind of lumps and don’t really resemble brandy snaps. They taste fine, but have set so hard it’s only possible to suck them! My guess is that they could have done with a little less sugar, but any feedback would be brilliant. Here’s the recipe I used:

  1. Melt 2oz butter and stir in 2oz golden syrup and 2oz caster sugar
  2. Remove from heat and stir in 2oz plain flour and 1 tsp ground ginger
  3. Put small dollops 3″ apart on a greased baking tray and bake at 200C for 10 minutes
  4. Allow to cool for 1 – 2 mins before removing from tray (I’m skipping this and scraping them off immediately!)

This is batch one, overcooked and stuck to the tray!

Actions

Information

One response

14 05 2011
toasty redhead

I never thought of it that way, well put!

Leave a Reply

