Ventures in tatting

23 05 2011

For a few weeks now, I’ve been thinking that I’d like to try my hand at tatting. I was in Duttons for Buttons on Saturday for some bits and pieces for a knitting project and saw that they sold tatting shuttles, so I bought one. Over the weekend, I spent a good couple of hours trying to figure out how on earth I’m supposed to use it!

I search for instructions, but found that they mostly seemed to work from the premise that it was something that one had seen it being done and a lot of them didn’t have pictures. Of course, it did not help that I’ve spent hours upgrading my laptop over the weekend, only to find that the drivers for the wireless adapter have become corrupted and I no longer have internet connectivity from it, so I was using my mobile phone on the wireless instead. While I love my phone very much, it’s not that great for trying to view pictures of something fiddly on a small screen while trying to do said fiddly thing with both hands! There was a lot of focus on the necessity to ‘flip the knot’ and it became apparent than one twisted one’s wrist in order to do so, but I couldn’t picture what that actually looked like.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I finally figured out what it meant and how to do it, and am now able to make rings with double stitches and picots. I am not, however, able to make chains, because I don’t know how to wind the shuttle properly, and, while I’ve been able to make up something in order to be able to practice stitches, what I have been doing does not work for chains!

My investigative projects for today, then are how to fix my laptop and how I should have my ball, thread and shuttle if I want to make chains!

Once I’ve figured out what I’m supposed to be doing, I’ll post some pictures. In the mean time, if anyone knows of any (free) resources that might point my in the right direction, I would be very grateful!

Edit

I’ve found a few good videos on Youtube, which I’ll definitely be coming back to later (when I actually have the work in front of me!) and I thought I’d share them here too.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

