New phone – text input

24 07 2011

I don’t tend to blog about technology very often, but today I traded in my phone and got a Samsung Galaxy S II. What’s actually got me the most excited is the Swype text input method.Basically, you draw lines loosely based on the keys you’d use too write the word in question and it figures out what you probably meant and either enters the word or provides you with a list to choose from. I’m using it to type this post and I’ve barely spent any time putting things right, even though it’s the first time I’ve used it. It even handles words with apostrophes etc with no hassle! I wonder whether it’ll catch on or whether it’ll be a phase that passes. I’m really impressed with it so far, but perhaps I should wait a few days before raving about it too much.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

